The part where the little hearts have it all worked out

I have one of the best professions. I am lucky to be encouraged by little humans every day. Young children who have experienced many emotions in their short lives and share what they think and know so naturally with anyone who will listen to them.

Every day I record little moments of our time together. Moments that I know I will keep with me forever because their words so frequently mean more than what the most highly articulate adults can deliver.

They always speak the truth to people they care about. I am told on those days where I am looking pretty in their eyes. I am reminded of the days where I couldn’t quite cover that big pimple on my chin. I know when I do something right and I definitely know when I make a mistake.

Sometimes my words aren’t needed . The innocence of their young minds and the generous nature of their growing hearts frequently makes me wish that more adults could see and feel life in the way the young people that I am lucky enough to surround myself with do.

There are the comments –

“Miss ..! Why do you look so beautiful? You should wear school clothes and not beautiful clothes! Why do you always wear different clothes Miss ..?”

“I can tell you’re laughing Miss … because you are smiling and the laughing is coming out of your eyeballs”

Then there are the smiles, the giggles, the hugs, the hand written invitations, the drawings, the little notes and the random treasures that are passed on to me every day.

So, if you’re ever feeling like your adult world is a little bit too much to handle, the perfect way to put a smile back on your face and get some perspective is to slow your life down a bit, share a smile with a child you know, send them some love and give them some of your attention. Then you’ll remember what life is all about. We all started off this way – generous, forgiving, excitable and positive. I dare you to try it. It’s catching.

There is a catch though – do it for the child and not for yourself.

This is a difficult topic for me to talk about in brief because I am so passionate about it as a professional in my industry and as a adult who seriously still believes she is a child at heart.

Childhood is magic and children are inspiring. Not only should children not be discouraged to enjoy their childhood, the magic of childhood should follow us through into adulthood.

Life would be so much simpler. And happy.

IMG_2140-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

